To Sleep, Perchance to Dream

Post-nap conversation and solution to a long-standing feud between Dreaming and Emptiness:

Dreaming: “No offense, but I’m better.  I think a lot about the way I effect sleep and the sleeper.  As you have seen, Emptiness, the sleeper is always prepared for the dream to come.  I think it really has to do with you getting the sleeper ready.  If they were to instantly start dreaming, the unusual scenarios of their dreams may come as a jarring surprise which could even interrupt their sleep.  Luckily, you serve as a great transition between reality and the dream world.  I owe it to you, Emptiness.  Without you I might have been an unpleasant experience, though I still believe that I am more important to the individual.  Who would want to spend 8 hours every night with nothing but a black void to look at; no crazy stories to tell their lover in the morning; no nightmares to breed courage in young people; no nothing.  Actually, only nothing.”

Emptiness: “…”

Dreaming: “Right.”

Leave a comment