On the road

When a journey begins, the best part is never knowing how it will end.  Let me try to be as poignant as possible when stating this: When I started my life, I had no idea where I would end up and I still don’t.  That being said, my life has taken many drastic turns in the past quarter-century and they have all been fantastic, leading me closer to the end of my path.  Don’t get me wrong, I am far from death.  I believe that I will live into my nineties and get to see what happens to the rest of you.  I also believe that there is no small coincidence, only gigantic leaps of faith that give us all power to keep moving forward.

 

I began as an infant.  I swallowed the milk and grew to a boy.  I ate the vegetables and grew to a teenager.  I ingested all sorts of things not limited to high fructose corn syrup and still bled with the best of them.  I powered through my adolescence and ended up a young strapping adult.  When this happened, I was confronted with a choice.  Whether to keep moving in a scholarly direction, or become a man of the land.  Of course there is no black and white in life so I mixed my own cocktail of education and free wheelin’.  I ended up doing some time in a state institution (community college) and worked random jobs to pay my meager bills and stay fed.  All those previous actions steered me towards a beautiful two years in university where I got my degree, learned to shit or get off the pot and taught myself what it means to try.  I did not have it particularly hard, and I still don’t.

I write because it seems to me to be the smartest thing that I can do without selling myself short.  I don’t have to change the words on the page but I am always trying to change the words that I say out loud.  It’s funny that those are the only words I ever want to change.  For now, my written word is my purest asset, because for some reason I am always happy with the way they end up.  My life is full of surprises and any one of them could become the thing that changes my life forever.  The truth is that they have all changed my life forever.  I realize that every time I step outside or lay down to sleep, my life changes forever.  The smallest things make up my existence and my path changes with every breath.  My goal in life is to write, because it is what I enjoy doing the most.  Sometimes I write out loud.  Sometimes, before I fall asleep, I write in the ceiling with my eyes.  Sometimes I use red ink, but mostly I use blue and black. 

Leave a comment